(October 2021. Interlude, and a new blog.)

Welcome! If you are new here, this is not my usual kind of post. Don’t Let The Days Go By is a continuing story set in 1996, about a university student. In the fictional timeline, after final exams in June and December, I take a break from writing for a month or so, and the last episode included December finals, so I am on a break.

I started yet another blog, called “Greg Out Of Character.” In this blog, I will write about pretty much anything that isn’t an episode of DLTDGB. Maybe some of the events in my past that inspired DLTDGB, maybe thoughts about other writing projects, maybe I’ll share some other writing I did in the past unrelated to DLTDGB, I’m not really sure yet. We’ll see. I don’t plan on posting there on a schedule. But any of you who regularly interact with me, I would appreciate if you followed that blog too, especially if you actually find me interesting.

I’m not sure what I’ll be doing on this site during the hiatus. I’m thinking I should probably update the About This Site and Dramatis Personae pages, so watch for those soon. I might also make an organized and categorized list of episodes. I’ve also thought it would be fun to draw maps of the University of Jeromeville, and possibly of Jeromeville and the surrounding region. I started this a while ago, but whenever I try drawing maps, it just ends up looking too much like the actual place that inspired my fictional universe, and it feels like I should at least make it a little bit different. We’ll see what I come up with.

So, back to my original point, if you are new here and interested in this story, you can read all 111 episodes. Start with the first episode (July 5, 1993) by clicking here, and then just click Next at the bottom of each one. If that’s too much, you can read the summary of Year 1, then the summary of Year 2, then start with the first episode of Year 3 (June 18-21, 1996) and continue from there. You can also listen to the music for Year 1, Year 2, and Year 3 (in progress).

How is everyone’s October going?

11 thoughts on “(October 2021. Interlude, and a new blog.)

  1. Cool! I’ll go check it out. It’d be fun to see Greg under a different lens! (:
    October’s okay so far- we have another set of exams coming up in November, and in person school has started 1-3 times a week.
    The heat is DEATH, though… can’t wait for “winter” (winter in quotations because it isn’t really a winter… it’s just a little colder, windier, and cloudier + all the pollution settles along the skyline. XD!)

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Is in-person school a good thing for you? Do you like it that way? Would you rather go in person every day or stay online?

      How hot is it for you? Is it humid too? I’ve always said that summer here (which is usually hot and dry) feels like it lingers until around November 1, and then it suddenly feels like someone flips the winter switch and all of a sudden it’s cold and rainy. (It only snows here at high elevations, which I am not.) But this year, someone flipped the switch a few weeks early. It’s been raining nonstop for almost 24 hours; after a few years of drought, we need the rain, but I really hate rain. It makes it hard to get around. If it’s bad enough that roads are flooded, I might not be able to get to work tomorrow. And my umbrella broke this morning… And I had problems with my roof leaking a few years ago, so rain is always scary.

      Good luck on your exams!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I really, really like in person school- but it’s pretty draining, because of the masks and the fact that we aren’t allowed ACs on.
        I’d definitely like a hybrid- three days a week in person, and two days a week online!
        It’s hot AND humid. You feel like you’re trapped in this thick, incessantly warm blanket that refuses to go away. It’s pretty awful, but only lasts for the few weeks between the monsoon and winter. Our actual summers, are hotter than this (daily temperatures are from 35 degrees Celsius to 45 degrees Celsius. The highest I’ve witnessed is 49!!), but far less humid.
        Oof- that is a little scary. Good luck with them…

        Liked by 2 people

      2. Yeah… I’ve been in that kind of hot, humid weather before while traveling, but not where I live. Most of the southeastern US and the East Coast are like that in the summer.

        Apparently this was a new record here for rain in a 24-hour period, and it equaled about one-fourth of the average amount of rain we get in a year. I don’t know yet how that’ll affect getting to work today, but I’m going to get off here now and leave a little early just in case.

        Liked by 2 people

  2. PBS – I’ll swap you that warm, humid blanket for the cold, grey and rainy UK. Want to swap?? Pleeeeease?

    “Greg” – “…especially if you actually find me interesting.” Absolutely! I’ve just started following your non-DLTDGB blog now.

    Sounds like a lot of rain where you are. Go steady on the roads (I assume you’re driving to work?) I hope the rain eases off before any flooding gets too bad.

    Caz x

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It rained from the middle of the night Saturday-Sunday until Monday around 9am, with a few brief showers lingering over the next few hours. It’s been dry ever since then.

      My work is two cities away; it takes about 30 minutes to drive there. (I wouldn’t want any longer of a drive to work every day, but this length of commute is actually okay for me. It gives me enough time to get emotionally and mentally ready for the day in the morning, and to unwind in the afternoon. Plus, good music, and decent scenery, and it’s flat so no chance of driving off a cliff or anything. I checked traffic on Google Monday morning and decided to go a slightly longer way, because there was a big slowdown on the way, although I didn’t see if it was weather related.

      This kind of weather is fairly typical here in November through March or so, a couple of big rainy days followed by weeks of mostly dry weather. However, this one was wetter than average for this pattern, and it’s not common for October. I read that this storm equaled about 1/4 of the amount of rainfall we get in an average year, just in a day and a half.

      Thanks for following! I’ll have a post up there soon regarding the highlight of my recent life, since it’s related to the time period I write about… although, now that I think about it, I think you might follow my personal Instagram, since I knew you before I had a separate Instagram for WordPress friends, so you probably already know what happened. (And I’m totally okay with you following my personal Instagram, if you are.)

      Liked by 1 person

  3. It is always exciting to start something new. For example, I deleted a blog with 2000 followers and now I have started another blog in English. So you did well, in life you always have to try new paths.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I know how you feel… hang in there!

      I’m working on a guest post for someone else’s blog too. I’ll post it on my other blog eventually, but I’m going to let the person who asked for guest posts share it first, and that won’t be for another month or so.

      Like

Leave a comment